The Gloversville Public Library Board of Trustees

Board Members


Christine Pesses
Merry Dunn Brown
Vice President
Lisa Buggeln
Craig Clark
Vice President of Finance




Elizabeth Batchelor
Frank Carangelo
Charles "Ren" Reed
Christian W. Rohrs
Susan Shrader

Michael Frank

Treasurer and Recording Secretary
(non-elected, non-voting position)

John Blackmon
Claims Auditor
(non-elected, non-voting appointment)


The Board meets monthly, on the third Tuesday at 6:30 p.m. Meetings are open to the public. Agendas, minutes and board packets can be found under Minutes & Packets.


Trustee Qualifications

Trustees must be residents of the Gloversville Enlarged School District and must be qualified to vote. Which means he or she must be 18 years of age or older by the end of this year, must not be eligible to vote in another school district, and must not be in prison or on parole for a felony conviction.

The most important qualification is a strong and genuine belief in public libraries and their mission in the community as centers for information and referral, recreation, and lifelong education. A candidate must also be willing to devote appropriate time and effort to carrying out the duties and responsibilities of trusteeship.

The duties will include regular attendance at board meetings; devoting time to committee service and activities; being visible (and often vocal) in the community on behalf of the library; and taking the time necessary to study and learn about the library and the social, legal, and political context in which it exists.

Trustees serve 5 year terms.

2018 Election
Visit the Library Election Page


Executive, Budget, Finance & Audit, Building & Grounds, Personnel, Public Relations, Programming and Policy.
The Board of Trustees also provides two liaisons to the Gloversville Library Foundation.