Skip to content

The Board meets monthly, on the third Tuesday at 6:00 p.m. Meetings are open to the public. Agendas, minutes, and board packets from the last year can be accessed on this page. Previous years are available upon request.

Board Members


Charles “Ren” Reed, President (term to 2024)
Merry Dunn Brown, Vice President (term to 2026)
Christian Rohrs, Secretary (term to 2024)
Greg Niforos, Vice President of Finance (term to 2025)


Building & Grounds
Finance & Audit
Public Relations

The Board of Trustees also provides two liaisons to the Gloversville Library Foundation.


Richard Carlson (term to 2028)
John Mazur (term to 2026)
Caren Pepper (term to 2025)
Christine Pesses (term to 2027)
Susan Shrader (term to 2028)

Michael Frank, Treasurer and Recording Secretary (non-elected, non-voting position)

John Blackmon, Claims Auditor (non-elected, non-voting appointment)

Trustee Qualifications

Trustees must be residents of the Gloversville Enlarged School District and must be qualified to vote. Which means he or she must be 18 years of age or older by the end of this year, must not be eligible to vote in another school district, and must not be in prison or on parole for a felony conviction.

The most important qualification is a strong and genuine belief in public libraries and their mission in the community as centers for information and referral, recreation, and lifelong education. A candidate must also be willing to devote appropriate time and effort to carrying out the duties and responsibilities of trusteeship.

The duties include regular attendance at board meetings; devoting time to committee service and activities; being visible (and often vocal) in the community on behalf of the library; and taking the time necessary to study and learn about the library and the social, legal, and political context in which it exists.

Trustees serve 5 year terms.